Are Pizza Hut Wings Gluten Free?

It’s tough for people with gluten sensitivity to enjoy all kinds of foods. That’s why going out and having lunch with someone can be tricky. If they suggest Pizza Hut, you might want to take a look at the menu before going and see are Pizza Hut wings gluten free, and if not, what is.

Unfortunately for wings lovers, the ones in Pizza Hut aren’t gluten-free. According to their allergen information chart, the chicken wings contain cereals with gluten and aren’t recommended for anyone allergic. It also says that the BBQ chicken wings could be safe for consumption but can have allergens present at the manufacturing site. To be safe, you should avoid the wings and go for something else.

A plate of chicken wings
Pizza Hut wings are delicious, but unfortunately, full of gluten

Are Pizza Hut Wings Gluten Free?

When you want to go out and eat, your gluten sensitivity might get in the way of enjoyment. Still, it’s better to be safe than sorry, as gluten allergies can be severe and long-lasting. Some delicious, glutinous foods may not be worth the bloat and a significant energy drop.

If you’ve decided to go to Pizza Hut, you might think chicken wings are a good solution since pizza dough is made with wheat flour. However, while the meat itself is safe, the spices and additives they add to it might, and typically do, contain gluten.

That’s usually why such foods are delicious, and people come back for more. You may wish to risk it here and there, but if you’re extremely sensitive (such as having celiac disease,) taking such risks would be too much.

Which Allergens Are in Pizza Hut Chicken Wings?

It’s best to ask the staff about potential allergens, but if you want to be safe before heading to the restaurant, you can look up their allergen information chart and check out what’s good for you there.

The chart states that the allergens found in Pizza Hut chicken wings are “cereals containing gluten present above 20 ppm.” PPM stands for “parts per million,” and the FDA considers foods gluten-free if they contain an ingredient derived from a gluten-containing grain that was processed to less than 20 ppm.

The chart states that the BBQ chicken wings don’t include this cereal but can be exposed to various allergens at the manufacturing site. Some products may become cross-contaminated, so it’s easy to make mistakes. To be safe, avoid wings and check out below which foods are gluten-free.

A person taking a piece of a cheese pizza
You can skip the wings and opt for a cheese pizza

What Is Gluten Free at Pizza Hut

Luckily, Pizza Hut understands that people with allergies and sensitivities still want to eat at their restaurants. That’s why they offer gluten-free crusts for each type of pizza, so you don’t miss out on any flavors and enjoyment.

Cheese is free from gluten, so you can get a cheese pizza with gluten-free crust and enjoy your day. Mixed peppers, jalapenos, black olives, and tomatoes are all safe to consume, too, so you can actually take advantage of the create-your-own-pizza offer and simply put all the good ingredients for your body.

Here are more available toppings that are safe to consume:

  • Cajun chicken,
  • Ham,
  • Pepperoni,
  • Plain chicken,
  • Beef,
  • Pulled pork,
  • BBQ sauce,
  • Anchovies,
  • Tuna,
  • Sweetcorn,
  • Pineapple,
  • Mushrooms.

You Can Have Safe, Gluten-Free Drinks at Pizza Hut

Luckily, you don’t have to have a pizza with just water – soft drinks are gluten-free. Although they have another issue, the significant sugar content, you can opt for diet soft drinks like Diet Coke, Coke Zero, and Pepsi Max.

Otherwise, drinks like Mountain Dew, Fanta, and Sierra Mist are safe for consumption and pretty delicious drink partners for your gluten-free, nutritious pizza.

Some Sides Are Made With Safe, Gluten-Free Ingredients

If you love the garlic bread at Pizza Hut, there’s some bad news – the bread has a lot of gluten, which should be more obvious. If it wasn’t, you learned it here first – the delicious, juicy garlic bread that so many of us love isn’t gluten-free.

Even potatoes and potato wedges have lots of gluten, so potatoes, fries, and bread should be completely off your menu.

Here’s a chart overview of the allergens in Pizza Hut side dishes.

Side Dish / AllergenGlutenSoyEggsDairy
Garlic breadYesYesNoMight be cross-contaminated
Cheesy garlic breadYesYesNoYes
Potato wedgesYesYesNoNo
Loaded wedgesYesNoNoYes
Mac & cheese pastaYesNoNoYes
Cheese trianglesYesYesYesYes
Cheesy nachosNoNoNoYes
BBQ chicken wingsMight be cross-contaminatedNoNoNo
Breaded chicken stripsYesYesNoNo
Hot’n’spicy chicken stripsYesYesYesNo

If You Have a Gluten Sensitivity, the Wings Aren’t for You – But There’s a Lot That Is

It’s tough to decide on what to get at Pizza Hut when everything that looks and seems delicious might make you feel awful afterward. No one deserves to feel bad after eating food, so luckily, Pizza Hut is one of the restaurants that understands that and offers a variety of meals and menus.

You can skip the wings when you get there, but if you’re OK with dairy, try the gluten-free cheese pizza with nachos and a Coke Zero. It’ll be a great, filling meal and you’ll have wished you had seconds because you’ll be feeling great afterward.

I’d also strongly recommend you consider the Create Your Own Pizza option since it’ll be your best bet – you will have all the safe and tasty ingredients on your plate without worrying about hidden products and nutrition. Since that’s available, ensure you use it to your advantage.