Is Cheese Pizza Vegan?

Changing your entire lifestyle and becoming a vegan is a challenging process. You have to give up on many things, but pizza might not have to be one of them. Considering there are not that many meat-free toppings to choose from, many are wondering – is cheese pizza vegan? You need to know the answer to this question if you’re a diehard fan of this Italian dish.

So, is cheese pizza vegan? Cheese pizza is not vegan. Cheese is made from milk, which is an animal product. There are some plant-based cheeses on the market, but they’re not typical of what you’d find on a cheese pizza.

Pizza on a white plate

Find out more about the vegan pizza version, and don’t give up on your favorite meal just because you can’t eat cheese. Stay around because I gathered some interesting facts.

Is Cheese Pizza Vegan and Can Vegans Still Enjoy It

Although traditional cheese pizza isn’t vegan, it doesn’t mean vegans can’t still enjoy it. But, it does mean you don’t have to wonder what’s so special about Galbani mozzarella cheese. As a vegan, you’re not consuming any kind of animal products. So, no wonder why many think they just have to give up on cheese pizza. But that’s not quite true. On the contrary, nowadays, there are many flavorful cheese alternatives on the market you can find that are dairy-free.

As many people already know, veganism is a special diet where people don’t eat anything that comes from animals. This means some obvious stuff is excluded from their diet, like meat, but also other ingredients such as gelatin, cheese, and coloring agents made from animals. When it comes to eating pizza, everyone knows that one of its main ingredients is precisely cheese. Luckily, there are some perfect options for vegan pizzas.

Is the Vegan Pizza Version Healthier Than the Regular One?

Not consuming cheese or a vegan version of it on a pizza does make this dish slightly healthier than the regular one. And it’s also a great solution for some meat-eaters who are sensitive to dairy. So, it’s not just the vegans who should enjoy these delicious vegan slices.

Vegetable pizza on a wooden surface

What Are the Vegan Pizzas Made Of

Since dairy cheese is out of the picture, how can vegans still eat cheese pizza? Actually, it’s quite simple. You just have to use dairy-free cheese instead of the traditional one. So, if you want to have a homemade pizza night, you’ll have to experiment with some different products. Know it might take a while until you find the perfect recipe you’ll like.

Now, let’s check what ingredients you can actually use to make a delicious vegan pizza:

  • Veggies – use your favorite greenery and boost the flavor of your pizza. For example, spinach or rocket could be a great start. Sometimes picking the best vegetables for pizza topping can be tricky, but that doesn’t necessarily mean you can’t experiment with them. Don’t be afraid to try something new. So, why not try with mushrooms, green peppers, tomatoes, and olives. With all this healthy stuff, pepperoni will be the last thing on your mind.
  • Vegan sauce – luckily, classic marinara sauce is vegan, and it goes nicely with any vegetables you want on your pizza. Also, there’s a good old tomato sauce that you can spice up a bit with caramelized onion and mushrooms. But, one thing is for sure, a good sauce is a foundation for a perfect pizza, so don’t be afraid to add some extra sauce if you like.
  • Vegan crust – traditional doughs for pizza are vegan. You just need to remove dairy products like yogurt from the mix. The rest of the ingredients are completely vegan – flour, yeast, and water. You can also try the gluten-free crust for your pizza, too.
  • Vegan pepperoni – nowadays, there are many meat substitutes, and why should pepperoni be any different. You can find vegan pepperoni that is made from tofu, soy proteins, vegetables, wheat gluten, and legumes.

Is Dairy-Free Cheese the Solution?

Yes, dairy-free cheese is a perfect solution for people who don’t consume animal products. If you’re not really into this type of cheese, there’s always another solution – just skip it. Of course, everything depends on your personal preferences, but a perfect pizza without cheese does exist.

Although there are numerous vegan cheese versions from soy milk and other nuts, know that cheese isn’t an essential ingredient if you want to make a perfect pizza. In fact, did you know that pizza marinara dates from around 1730 and that its original recipe didn’t have cheese at all? There was only olive oil, tomato sauce, oregano, and a few slices of garlic and pepper.

Know What Ingredients Are Different Between Regular and Vegan Pizza

Many people think vegans can’t eat pizza at all. But they are completely wrong. In fact, there are only a few things that make vegan pizza different from the traditional one. So, let’s see what types of ingredients are used for each of them.


Check Out Some Simple Vegan Pizzas You Can Make at Home

Who doesn’t love the ultimate comfort food like pizza, right? Well, if you decide to modify your diet and avoid animal products, you don’t have anything to worry about. You can still enjoy this amazing food with completely vegan ingredients.

And if you’re tired of asking yourself what is the cheapest pizza delivery, why not cook a homemade vegan pizza instead? Here are some of the pizzas you should definitely try:

  • Spinach artichoke pizza,
  • Socca pizza,
  • Hummus pizza with veggies,
  • Grilled veggie pizza with yeast-free crust,
  • Vegan Caprese pizza,
  • Vegan deep dish pizza,
  • Easy vegan pepperoni pizza,
  • Vegan taco pizza.

What Is the Key to a Great Vegan Pizza

It’s actually quite simple answering this question because all you need for a perfect food like pizza is fresh ingredients. No, traditional cheese isn’t an essential ingredient in order to make the restaurant-taste pizza at home. Just pick the fresh stuff you want to put on your dough and add a pinch of love.